Version Espanola
Welcome to the Particle & Astroparticle Physics Group website

Welcome to the local WWW server of the Fundamental Physics group of CIEMAT (Center for Energy, Technology and Environmental Research) in Madrid (Spain).

Our group belongs to the Basic Research Department at CIEMAT, and is composed by the Particle Physics Division, the Astroparticle Physics Division and the Scientific Computing Unit.

In the area of experimental high energy physics, the group participates in the CMS experiment of the LHC collider at CERN, in the DoubleChooz experiment, aimed at studying the neutrino oscillations, and in the ArDM experiment at the LSC laboratory. The group is also involved in the development of new detection techniques, within the CALICE collaboration, devoted to R&D in calorimetry for future linear colliders.

The activity in astroparticle physics is centred on several experiments. AMS at the ISS, whose goal is the study of cosmic rays with very high precision, DES and PAU, dedicated to the study of the properties of the dark energy through very large galaxy surveys, and CTA/MAGIC which measure the gamma rays arriving to the Earth in order to localize all the sources and look for possible signals of dark matter. The group is engaged as well in the ESTALLIDOS collaboration, dedicated to the study of starbursts and their impact in galaxies evolution.

Along with the activities in experimental particle and astroparticle physics, we are involved in the development of advanced scientific computing techniques and the integration and deployment of distributed and parallel computing technologies, providing infrastructure and support for the large and complex computational requirements of the scientific projects of the group.

Department Director: Marcos Cerrada Canales
Depto. de Investigacion Basica
Avenida Complutense 40
E-28040 MADRID (Spain)

Phone: +34 91 346 6589
Fax: +34 91 346 6068

General Info

Special issue about particle physics, Vértices journal

Revista VĂ©rtices nº 19

Department activities (Video)

Experimental Particle Physics Division

The Experimental Paricle Physics Group participates in several forefront experiments studying the physics of the basic building blocks of matter (fundamental particles) and their interactions. Our group is involved in accelerator based experiments (CERN, FERMILAB), neutrino physics and instrumentation in various topics.

Division Leader: Nicanor Colino Arriero


The CMS experiment @ Large Hadron Collider (LHC), CERN
Local Website

The Double Chooz experiment
Local Website
Collaboration website

The CALICE collaboration
Local Website
Collaboration website

The Argon Dark Matter Experiment
Local Website
Collaboration website

The CDF experiment @ Tevatron, Fermilab

Astroparticle Physics Division

The Astroparticle Physics group is involved in numerous experiments devoted to the study of fundamental physics by means of astrophysics and cosmology experiments. Currently we are involved in the study of cosmic radiation with the AMS experiment in the International Space Station, the study of the dark energy properties and the Big Bang cosmology through DES and PAU projects and other studies in different telescope installations.

Division Leader: Javier Berdugo Perez


The CTA project
Collaboration Website

The Dark Energy Survey (DES) experiment
Local Website
Collaboration website

Estallidos project
Web Local
Collaboration website

The MAGIC Collaboration
Collaboration website

Scientific Computing Unit

The Scientific Computing Unit focuses on development and implementation of grid technologies, providing the infrastructure and support of the CMS Tier-2 center and participating, together with other institutions, in the Spanish Tier-1 center (PIC). Our Tier-1 and Tier-2 sites are part of the Worldwide LHC Computing Grid (WLCG), a distributed computing infrastructure built to meet the challenge of data processing on an unprecedented scale in the LHC.

The Unit is also involved in the application of new computing architectures, such general purpose graphics processing units (GPGPU), in the computing activities of the physics groups in the department.

Group Leader: Jose Maria Hernandez Calama